Driving With a Suspended License?
The Official Code of Georgia Annotated (O.C.G.A.) 40-5-121 details the offense and resulting penalties in Georgia, for driving with suspended license, as this is an EXTREMELY SERIOUS offense. The crime of Driving with a Suspended License is defined as driving while the person’s privilege to drive is:
- Disqualified or
Penalties for Driving with a Suspended License
The MANDATORY MINIMUM penalties that apply for a first offense within 5 years, if you are convicted of driving on a suspended license are:
- A period of imprisonment of not less than two (2) days and not exceeding twelve (12) months.
- Fine ranging between $500.00 and $1,000.00. plus applicable surcharges.
- Reinstatement fee for 1st offense to be “$200.00 if paid by mail or $210.00
- Mandatory fingerprinting that will be forwarded to the Ga. Crime Information Center.
- License Suspension extended for an additional six (6) months.
- Reinstatement fee of $210.00 at the end of an additional six (6) month suspension period.
- Reinstatement fee for 2nd offense within 5 years is $300 if paid by mail or $310.00
- Reinstatement fee for 3rd or subsequent offense within 5 years is $400.00 if paid by mail or $400.00
- Confiscation of drivers license by the court when convicted.
- 2nd and 3rd offense penalties within 5 years: HIGH AND AGGRAVATED MISDEMEANOR, ten (10) days in Jail, up to 12 months in jail, fine of $1,000.00
- to $2,500.00, six (6) month suspension, reinstatement fee of $310.00 – $410.00;
- 4th and subsequent offense penalties: FELONY – Period of imprisonment of not less than one (1) year and not exceeding five (5) years and a fine of between $2,500 and $5,000.00.
Reasons for Suspending Driving Privileges
There are several reasons for which driving privileges can be suspended, such as being convicted of a DUI or drug offense. In the State of Georgia, your license or driving privilege will be suspended for this offense. Failure to appear in court or driving without driving privileges will cause you to also face suspended license penalties.
In the event that you are charged with O.C.G.A. 40-5-121, which is Driving on a suspended license, the services of an experienced traffic court defense lawyer will be required. Securing experienced counsel during this critical period is important.
Experienced Traffic Attorney and Suspended License Lawyer
Attorney Diana Whipkey Young of the Young Law Firm is a Marietta Suspended License Lawyer, who has extensive experience of over 20 years in the representation of clients charged with Drivers License Violations. In many cases, your charges can be reduced or even dismissed, which means that you will avoid harsh penalties or jail time and your license will be returned to you. You will also avoid any further suspension of your driving privileges.
There is no need to worry, you can easily get your questions answered. Contact me now for a private and confidential consultation, so that we can discuss your case. Attorney’s fees are quite competitive, with payment plans available and major credit cards are accepted.
Regardless of how serious you think your case is BEFORE you have to face the judge, call us at 770-795-9596 and The Young Law Firm will schedule your consultation today.